Skip to Content

AFBAmerican Foundation®
for the Blind

Expanding possibilities for people with vision loss

Association for the Blind & Visually Impaired-Charleston - AFB Directory Profile

General Information

Association for the Blind & Visually Impaired-Charleston
1 Carriage Lane, Building A
Charleston, SC 29407
(843) 723-6915 (Local)
(843) 577-4312 (Fax)
info@abvisc.org
http://abvisc.org/

Brief Description

ABVI-Charleston's mission is to serve and support people with visual needs, by empowering these individuals to live a safe, dignified and self-sufficient life. Through our programs and services we strive to inspire confidence as well as hope that independence is absolutely possible despite vision loss.

Clients served on average per year: 800+
Number of staff: 9
Staff description: Executive Director, Director of Development, Director of Marketing & Program, Director of Administration, Office Manager, Look Forward Program Manager, Computer Instructor, Receptionist, Consultant
Geographic area served: Charleston, Berkeley Dorchester Counties of South Carolina
Publications: Biannual Newsletters, Annual Report, Monthly eBlast and other as necessary.

Staff

Lorraine DeNicola, Manager of Client Services, ldenicola@aftbsc.org
Brooks Harken, Director of Programs, bharken@abvisc.org
Amy Harris, Manager, Employee Development Program, aharris@abvisc.org
Susan Lucas, Administrative Assistant, slucas@abvisc.org
Courtney Plotner, Executive Director, cplotner@abvisc.org
Anne Reid, Development Director, areid@abvisc.org
Kimberly Taylor, Manager, Own Your Life Program, ktaylor@abvisc.org

Services Offered

Services for Adults

  • Community Outreach Programs
    • ABVI Refocus on Children program screens Head Start and Child Development children in 22 Charleston County Title 1 schools. Children referred at the screening are offered free in-school eye exams and glasses and referrals when necessary. ABVI participates in community fairs screening for glaucoma, screening children and/or raising awareness.
  • Computer Training/Assistive Technology
    • Offers training in keyboard skills, JAWS, ZoomText, and the use of the Internet and sending and receiving e-mails. Upon successful completion graduates are given computers with accessibility software by SC Commission for the Blind. Offers CCTVs for a low monthly rental fee. ABVI also offers a 5 week iPad course using Voice Over and Zoom technology. Graduates may purchase an iPad at a minimal monthly fee.
  • Information and Referral
    • ABVI Help Desk provides onsite and over the phone assistance for clients and community members including, but not limited to, community resources, transportation information, disability benefits information, etc. I
  • Recreation Services
    • Social activities:Tickets to plays, sporting events, theater, and Spoleto events. Good Cheer Holiday Luncheon for all clients. ABVI has in-office ART, Crochet and Bingo for our clients.
  • Services for Seniors
    • Holds the Annual Low Vision Fair to present resources and information for the aging.
  • Support Groups
    • ABVI holds monthly support groups on living with and adjusting to blindness for our clients. ABVI also offers Art Therapy once a month.
Association for the Blind & Visually Impaired-Charleston, is this page missing one of your services, events, programs, or announcements? Update your information for free.

Join Our Mission

Help us expand our resources for people with vision loss.