Skip to Content

AFBAmerican Foundation®
for the Blind

Expanding possibilities for people with vision loss

CNIB: Newfoundland and Labrador Division - AFB Directory Profile

General Information

CNIB: Newfoundland and Labrador Division
70 The Boulevard
St. John's, NL A1A 1K2
(709) 754-1180 (Local)
(709) 754-2018 (Fax)
(800) 563-2642 (Toll-Free)
info@cnib.ca
http://www.cnib.ca

Brief Description

Hours of operation: Mon.-Fri. 8:30 AM-4:30 PM.
Geographic area served: Newfoundland and Labrador.
Publications: Vision (newsmagazine), Insight e-newsletter

Locations

1A O'Neill Avenue
Box 442
Grand Falls-Windsor, NL A2A 2J8

57 Humber Road
Corner Brook, NL A2H 1E7

Staff

Len Baker, Executive Director, Newfoundland and Labrador Division, (709) 754-1180 221, Len.Baker@cnib.ca
Sheila Clancey, Executive Assistant, (709) 754-1180 202, sheila.clancey@cnib.ca
Kelly Hatch, Manager, Client & Volunteer Services, (709) 754-1180 216, kelly.hatch@cnib.ca
Debbie Ryan, Community & Corporate Development Officer, (709) 754-1180 238, debbie.ryan@cnib.ca
Corrine Schumph, Manager, Fund Development, (709) 754-1180 230, corrine.schumph@cnib.ca
Tilly Vatcher, Director of Fund Development, (709) 754-1180 224, tilly.vatcher@cnib.ca
Theresa Whiffen, Manager, Accounting & Computer Services, (709) 754-1180 229, theresa.whiffen@cnib.ca

Services Offered

Services for Adults

  • Assessment
    • Assesses clients for vocational, rehabilitative, English language, mobility training needs.
  • Braille/Electronic/Audio/Large Print Production
    • Educational and other materials.
  • Community Outreach Programs
    • Provides deaf-blind outreach services.
  • Counseling
    • Counseling services available.
  • Daily Living Skills/Independent Living Skills Training
    • Provides training in sight enhancement, use of assistive technology, vocational rehabilitation.
  • Employment/Job Training
    • Offers employment counseling, career development, referral to on-the-job training.
  • Information and Referral
    • Provides information and referral services.
  • Library Services
    • Provides library services for Canadians living with vision loss.
  • Reading Services
    • Provides volunteers for home-based reading services of local or other newspapers.
  • Travel/Orientation and Mobility
    • Provides orientation and mobility training.

Services for Children

  • Braille and Reading Instruction
    • Offers a variety of courses including Grade 1 and Grade 2 Literary Braille. Offers a summer reading program for children, and in conjunction with the Canadian Braille Literacy Foundation, organizes an annual Braille Creative Writing and Accuracy Competition for children.
  • Education Services
    • College and university preparatory training provided to students with vision loss. CNIB Library transcribes educational textbooks into braille and audio formats.
  • Support for Parents
    • Offers information and support to parents. Support provided to professionals in the community who assist parents of children with vision loss.

Services for Professionals

  • Consultation/Technical Program Assistance
    • Available to professionals working with individuals with vision loss.
CNIB: Newfoundland and Labrador Division, is this page missing one of your services, events, programs, or announcements? Update your information for free.

Join Our Mission

Help us expand our resources for people with vision loss.