Skip to Content

AFBAmerican Foundation®
for the Blind

Expanding possibilities for people with vision loss

Idaho Educational Services for the Deaf and the Blind - AFB Directory Profile

General Information

Idaho Educational Services for the Deaf and the Blind
1450 Main Street
Gooding, ID 83330
(208) 934-4457 (Local)
(208) 934-8352 (Fax)
http://iesdb.org/

Brief Description

Geographic area served: Idaho.

Staff

Cora Caldwell, Teacher/Librarian, cora.caldwell@iesdb.org
Brian Darcy, Administrator, brian.darcy@iesdb.org
Charles Hunter, Director, Student Services, charles.hunter@iesdb.org
Paula Mason, Director of Outreach, paula.mason@iesdb.org
Shelly Sliman, Transition/IEP Coordinator, shelly.sliman@iesdb.org
David Sparks, Vice Principal, dave.sparks@iesdb.org
Gretchen Spooner, Director of Education, (208) 934-4457, gretchen.spooner@iesdb.org
Robin Swenson, Materials Center, robin.swenson@iesdb.org

Services Offered

Services for Children

  • Assessment
    • Offers evaluation and referral services.
  • Braille and Reading Instruction
    • ISDB Braille Transcription Center provides high-quality braille books to the students of Idaho.
  • Counseling
    • Offers perceptual development and parent counseling on consultant or referral basis. Trained counselors on site. Summer camp provides psychological programs. Offers counseling for parents.
  • Education Services
    • Has a preschool through twelfth grade program designed to lead the student through the acquisition of basic skills and knowledge, and to help the student apply these skills in practical life, as well as build a foundation for lifelong learning. Provides instruction in all developmental areas, academic programs for children (preschool through high school), career-oriented vocational program for nonacademic students, home-bound preschool program, and itinerant instruction for students attending public school programs.

      The Accessible Instructional Materials Library acquires, maintains and distributes specialized instructional materials, as well as coordinates and produces textbooks in braille and large print for students who are blind or visually impaired throughout Idaho.
  • Preschool Programs
    • Works with agencies and with parents at home, statewide. Offers preschool classroom program for children 3 years-kindergarten, regional statewide in-house programs for children age 0-3, program for children age 3-kindergarten, and consultation services to public schools.
  • Recreation Services
    • Recreational specialist coordinates after-school activities. Extracurricular activities provided: soccer, basketball, swimming, volleyball, track, gym, group activities.

Services for Professionals

  • Professional Training
    • Offers workshops for itinerant teachers and for regular education teachers in public schools and professional internships in special education or related fields. Offers Visually Impaired Paraprofessional Summer Training.
Idaho Educational Services for the Deaf and the Blind, is this page missing one of your services, events, programs, or announcements? Update your information for free.

Join Our Mission

Help us expand our resources for people with vision loss.