Skip to Content

AFBAmerican Foundation®
for the Blind

Expanding possibilities for people with vision loss

Learning Ally: Western Region and Southern California - AFB Directory Profile

General Information

Learning Ally: Western Region and Southern California
5022 Hollywood Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90027
(323) 664-5525 (Local)
(800) 732-8398 (Toll-Free)
away@learningally.org
http://www.LearningAlly.org

Brief Description

Learning Ally (formerly RFB&D) is a nonprofit volunteer organization with nearly 7,700 highly trained volunteers nationwide who read and produce the organization's collection of titles which are housed at Learning Ally's master library in Princeton, NJ.

Clients served on average per year: Nationally, over 257,210
Number of staff: 15
Staff description: Full-time and part-time paid staff, and 400 volunteers (whose voices are heard on all recorded books).
Geographic area served: Los Angeles, Imperial, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, and San Diego counties.
Publications: "The Download"

Locations

1844 West Eleventh Street
Unit C
Upland, CA 91786

Staff

Maureen Ahrens, Upland Studio Production Director, (909) 942-4241, mahrens@learningally.org
Kathryn Berry, Development Director, Southern California, (323) 210-4047, kberry@learningally.org
Mike Davis, Area Director, Southern California, (323) 210-4049, mdavis@learningally.org
Margaret Harty, Regional Programs and Services Director, (312) 236-8715, mharty@learningally.org
Lea Herman, Regional Programs and Services Director, (323) 664-5525, lherman@learningally.org
Diane Kelber, Communications Director, (323) 210-4051, dkelber@rfbd.org
Kathy Rosenblatt, Office Administrator, Southern California Unit, (323) 210-1450, krosenblatt@learningally.org
Sherry Weekes, Hollywood Studio Production Director, (323) 210-1451, sweekes@learningally.org
Robert Young, Regional Donor Relations Administrator, (323) 210-1452, ryoung@learningally.org

Services Offered

Services for Adults

  • Braille/Electronic/Audio/Large Print Production
    • Textbooks, reference materials, professional books.
  • Library Services
    • Nationally, maintains educational library with over 54,000 digitally recorded textbooks, reference, and professional materials.
  • Services for Seniors
    • To create opportunities for individual success by providing, and promoting the effective use of, accessible educational materials and for all people to have equal access to the printed word.

Services for Children

  • Braille and Reading Instruction
    • We provide human-voice recorded textbooks to those who have difficulty reading standard printed material.
  • Education Services
    • We provide human-voice recorded textbooks to those who have difficulty reading standard printed material.
Learning Ally: Western Region and Southern California, is this page missing one of your services, events, programs, or announcements? Update your information for free.

Join Our Mission

Help us expand our resources for people with vision loss.