Skip to Content

AFBAmerican Foundation®
for the Blind

Expanding possibilities for people with vision loss

Lighthouse for the Blind of Fort Worth - AFB Directory Profile

General Information

Lighthouse for the Blind of Fort Worth
912 West Broadway
Fort Worth, TX 76104
(817) 332-3341 (Local)
(817) 332-3456 (Fax)
aharris@lighthousefw.org
http://www.lighthousefw.org

Brief Description

The Lighthouse for the Blind of Fort Worth provides essential services to people who are visually impaired through diverse programs administered by a staff of skilled and caring professionals. A nonprofit organization, its mission is to provide services to assist legally and totally blind individuals to achieve their highest level of personal, economic self-sufficiency, consistent with their specific skills, general abilities, and interests.

Hours of operation: Monday through Thursday: 7:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Clients served on average per year: 3000
Number of staff: 85
Staff description: President/CEO Industrial Operations - VP of Manufacturing Head of Client Services Community Development Sales Manager Direct Manufacturing Labor Orientation & Mobility Instructor
Geographic area served: Primarily services are provided in Tarrant and seven surrounding counties.
Publications: Agency brochure, biannual newsletter.

Staff

Platt Allen, President and CEO, pallen@lighthousefw.org
Nancy Fisher, Community Development, (817) 332-3341, nfisher@lighthousefw.org
Tommy Jaynes, Vice President of Manufacturing, tjaynes@lighthousefw.org
Angela Johnson, O&M Specialist, ajohnson@lighthousefw.org
Donna Miller, Executive Assistant, dmiller@lighthousefw.org
Pat Monaghan, Accounting & Finance, pmonaghan@lighthousefw.org
Frank Oliver, Sales Manager, foliver@lighthousefw.org

Services Offered

Services for Adults

  • Advocacy
    • Provides information, guidance, and assistance with services provided by federal, state, and local resources.
  • Community Outreach Programs
    • Provides community education and awareness about vision loss.
  • Daily Living Skills/Independent Living Skills Training
    • Provides training in the use of adaptive devices, communication techniques, home and personal management, counseling and guidance and community resources.
  • Employment/Job Training
    • Provides work adjustment training and employment for individuals with vision loss.
  • Information and Referral
    • Provides information and referral services to individuals contending with vision loss and their families.
  • Support Groups
    • Provides contact information regarding local area telephone-based support groups and monthly low vision support groups.
  • Travel/Orientation and Mobility
    • Provides orientation and mobility skills training to assist individuals with vision loss to be able to travel independently.

Services for Children

  • Employment/Job Training
    • Offers a 6-week summer work opportunity for blind teenagers to provide them with a realistic work experience and begin their understanding of demands they will be expected to meet in the workplace.

Events

White Cane Day Walk

Lighthouse for the Blind of Fort Worth, is this page missing one of your services, events, programs, or announcements? Update your information for free.

Join Our Mission

Help us expand our resources for people with vision loss.