Skip to Content

AFBAmerican Foundation®
for the Blind

Expanding possibilities for people with vision loss

Texas Tech University: Virginia Murray Sowell Center for Research and Education in Sensory Disabilities - AFB Directory Profile

General Information

Texas Tech University: Virginia Murray Sowell Center for Research and Education in Sensory Disabilities
Room, 220, College of Education, Box 41071
Lubbock, TX 79409-1071
(806) 742-2320 (Local)
(806) 742-2326 (Fax)
http://www.depts.ttu.edu/education/outreach-and-research/sowell/index.php

Brief Description

Personnel preparation programs at Texas Tech University to prepare orientation and mobility specialists, teachers of students who are visually impaired, or deafblind, or deaf/hard of hearing

Hours of operation: 8:00-5:00 pm
Number of staff: 4.5
Staff description: administrative business assistants, internship coordinator, technical assistant specialist
Geographic area served: USA

Staff

Roseanna Davidson, Associate Professor- Programs in Deafblindness and Deaf/Hard of Hearing, (806) 834-4286, roseanna.davidson@ttu.edu
Nora Griffin-Shirley, Director/Professor- Orientation and Mobility Program, (806) 834-0225, n.griffin-shirley@ttu.edu
Phoebe Okungu, Assistant Professor, (806) 834-0286, phoebe.okungu@ttu.edu
Anita Page, Research Associate, Visual Impairment and O&M, (806) 834-1515, anita.page@ttu.edu
Rona Pogrund, Associate Professor, Visual Impairment Program, (512) 206-9213, rona.pogrund@ttu.edu
Robin Rekieta, Administrative Business Assistant, Reach Across Texas Program, (806) 834-1322, robin.rekieta@ttu.edu

Services Offered

Services for Professionals

  • Personnel Preparation
    • Offers graduate programs (certification, master's, doctoral) in the areas of visual impairment, orientation and mobility, deafness, and deafblindness via distance education and hybrid programs.
Texas Tech University: Virginia Murray Sowell Center for Research and Education in Sensory Disabilities, is this page missing one of your services, events, programs, or announcements? Update your information for free.

Join Our Mission

Help us expand our resources for people with vision loss.