Skip to Content

AFBAmerican Foundation®
for the Blind

Expanding possibilities for people with vision loss

UNMC Weigel Williamson Center for Visual Rehabilitation - AFB Directory Profile

General Information

UNMC Weigel Williamson Center for Visual Rehabilitation
704 S. 38th Ave
Omaha, NE 68105
(402) 559-2463 (Local)
(402) 559-8375 (Fax)
lowvision@unmc.edu
http://www.unmc.edu/lowvision

Brief Description

Hours of operation: Mon.-Fri. 8am to 4pm.
Clients served on average per year: 450 new clients
Number of staff: 7
Staff description: Ophthalmologist, Optometrist, RN, Low Vision Occupational Therapists
Geographic area served: Unlimited.

Staff

Linda Chilcott, M.Ed., COA, Ophthalmic Associate, (402) 559-2463, lchilcott@unmc.edu
Muriel Jepsen, OD, Low Vision Optometrist, (402) 559-2463, muriel.jepsen@unmc.edu
Pat Jones, R.N., B.A.N., Coordinator, Low Vision Services, (402) 559-2463, pajones@unmc.edu
Evelyn Katz, OTR/L, Low Vision Occupational Therapist, (402) 559-2463, ekatz@unmc.edu
John Shepherd, M.D., Director, (402) 559-2463, jdshepherd@unmc.edu
Stacy Thoene, OTD R/L, Low Vision Occupational Therapist, (402) 559-2463, stacy.thoene@unmc.edu

Services Offered

Services for Adults

  • Low Vision Services
    • Provides low vision evaluation and follow-up. Prescribes and supplies low vision devices.
  • Services for Seniors
    • Provides comprehensive vision rehabilitation services, which includes extensive training with devices and with eccentric fixation.

Services for Professionals

  • Professional Training
    • Provides training for ophthalmology residents, occupational therapist students, as well as eye care professionals and staff.
UNMC Weigel Williamson Center for Visual Rehabilitation, is this page missing one of your services, events, programs, or announcements? Update your information for free.

Join Our Mission

Help us expand our resources for people with vision loss.