Skip to Content

AFBAmerican Foundation®
for the Blind

Expanding possibilities for people with vision loss

Western Michigan University: Department of Blindness and Low Vision Studies - AFB Directory Profile

General Information

Western Michigan University: Department of Blindness and Low Vision Studies
Department of Blindness and Low Vision Studies
College of Health and Human Services
Western Michigan University
1903 West Michigan Ave.
Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5218
(269) 387-3455 (Local)
(269) 387-3567 (Fax)
jeannyne.depoian@wmich.edu
http://www.wmich.edu/visionstudies/

Brief Description

Department also offers clinical vision services (low vision, traditional optometric services)

Geographic area served: U.S and International

Staff

Charles Adams, Faculty Specialist, charles.adams@wmich.edu
Dawn Anderson, Faculty Specialist and Co-cordinator of the TCVI/OMC Program, (269) 387-5944, dawn.l.anderson@wmich.edu
Elyse Connors, Assistant Professor, (269) 387-4450, elyse.m.connors@wmich.edu
Gayla Dennis, Office Coordinator, (269) 387-3456, g.dennis@wmich.edu
Jeannyne Depoian, Office Associate, (269) 387-3868, jeannyne.depoian@wmich.edu
David Guth, Professor, (269) 387-3446, david.guth@wmich.edu
Dae Kim, Assistant Professor and Coordinator of the Orientation and Mobility for Adults Program, (269) 387-3447, dae.kim@wmich.edu
Helen Lee, Assistant Professor and Coordinator of the Vision Rehabilitation Therapy Program, (269) 387-3448, helen.lee@wmich.edu
James Leja, Professor and Department Chair, (269) 387-2645, james.leja@wmich.edu
Richard Long, Professor, (269) 387-3451, richard.long@wmich.edu
Robert Wall Emerson, Professor and Co-coordinator of the TCVI/OMC Program, (269) 387-3072, robert.wall@wmich.edu
Jennipher Wiebold, Associate Professor and Coordinator of Rehabilitation Counseling/Teaching (RCT), (269) 387-3459, jennipher.wiebold@wmich.edu

Services Offered

Services for Professionals

  • Personnel Preparation
    • M.A. in Orientation and Mobility for Adults (also distance ed.), M.A. in Vision Rehabilitation Therapy (also distance ed.), Dual M.A. in Rehabilitation Counseling and Vision Rehabilitation Therapy, M.A. in Teacher of Children with Visual Impairments and/or Orientation and Mobility with Children (also distance ed.) *Financial support is available through traineeships, scholarships, or other forms.
Western Michigan University: Department of Blindness and Low Vision Studies, is this page missing one of your services, events, programs, or announcements? Update your information for free.

Join Our Mission

Help us expand our resources for people with vision loss.