Skip to Content

AFBAmerican Foundation®
for the Blind

Expanding possibilities for people with vision loss

AFB Migel Medal Awards

Call for Nominations for 2019 Migel Medals

The American Foundation for the Blind (AFB) announces an invitation for nominations for the 2019 Migel Medal, the highest honor in the blindness field. The Migel Medal was established in 1937 by M.C. Migel, the first chairperson of AFB, to honor those whose dedication and achievements have significantly improved the lives of people with vision loss. Past honorees include legendary disability-rights advocate, Helen Keller, Senator Tom Harkin, social entrepreneur and engineer, Jim Fruchterman, and renowned educators, Kathleen Mary Huebner, Ph.D., and Philip H. Hatlen, Ed.D.

Most years, the Migel Medal Committee selects two honorees. Nominees should be those whose life work affects services to people with vision loss on a national level. One medal is bestowed to a professional in the field of blindness whose contributions have significantly improved the lives of people with vision loss. Prospective candidates include individuals with training and expertise in education, orientation and mobility, vision rehabilitation therapy, technology, personnel preparation, health, administration or a related field. Another medal is reserved for an individual who works outside the traditional field of vision loss, but whose career accomplishments or innovations significantly improve the lives of people who are blind or visually impaired. Examples include, but are not limited to, software or hardware manufacturers, Congressional leaders, disability rights advocates, and others. In some years, the committee may decide to bestow only one Migel Medal or even two in the same category based on the submissions and eligible nominees for the year.

Nominations for AFB's Migel Medal are due by October 15, 2018, and should be e-mailed to with "Migel Medal" in the subject line. The two medals will be bestowed on Friday, March 1, 2019, at the AFB Leadership Conference being held at the Crystal Gateway Marriott in Arlington, VA, from February 28-March 1. Nominators should send a one-page description of the nominee and his/her accomplishments, or fill out our online nomination form at You must also submit two letters of recommendation with the nomination.

2018 Migel Medal Award Recipients

Larry Campbell
Ted Henter
Read the full announcement for more information.

2017 Migel Medal Award Recipients

Carl R. Augusto
Rebecca Coakley
Read the full announcement for more information.

2016 Migel Medal Award Recipients

Michael Bina, Ed.D.
Gordon Gund
Llura “Lulie” Liggett Gund
Read the full announcement for more information.

2015 Migel Medal Award Recipients

Judy Brewer
Gaylen Kapperman, Ed.D.
Rosanne Silberman, Ed.D.
Read the full announcement for more information.

2014 Migel Medal Award Recipients

James Kesteloot
Oral Miller
Read the full announcement for more information.

2013 Migel Medal Award Recipients

Kay Ferrell, Ph.D., professor of special education at the University of Northern Colorado (UNC) in Greeley
Jim Fruchterman, founder, president, and CEO of Benetech

2012 Migel Medal Award Recipients

Kathleen Mary Huebner, Ph.D.
George Kerscher, Ph.D.
Read the full announcement for more information.

For questions, please contact:

AFB Communications

services icon Directory of Services

Join Our Mission

Your generosity makes our programs possible.