Skip to Content

AFBAmerican Foundation®
for the Blind

Expanding possibilities for people with vision loss

Nominate Someone for a Migel Medal Award

The American Foundation for the Blind (AFB) announces an invitation for nominations for the Migel Medal, the highest honor in the blindness field. The Migel Medal was established in 1937 by M.C. Migel, the first chairperson of AFB, to honor those whose dedication and achievements have significantly improved the lives of people with vision loss. Past honorees include legendary disability-rights advocate, Helen Keller, Senator Tom Harkin, social entrepreneur and engineer, Jim Fruchterman, and renowned educators, Kathleen Mary Huebner, Ph.D., and Philip H. Hatlen, Ed.D.

Nominees should be those whose life work affects services to people with vision loss on a national level. Prospective candidates include, but are not limited to, professionals with specific training and expertise in education, rehabilitation, technology, vision rehabilitation, personnel preparation, health, administration or related fields. They may work in the public or private sector.

Nominations for AFB's Migel Medal are due by October 15, 2018, and should be e-mailed to Communications at

Please remember to submit two letters of support to Communications at

services icon Directory of Services

Join Our Mission

Help us expand our resources for people with vision loss.