Skip to Content

AFBAmerican Foundation®
for the Blind

Expanding possibilities for people with vision loss

National Goals and Leader Organizations

GOAL 1: Referral

National Goal Co-Leader: Foundation for Blind Children
1235 East Harmont Drive
Phoenix, AZ 85020
(602) 331-1470; Fax: (602) 678-5819
E-mail: ctompkins@the-fbc.org
Contact: Chris Tompkins

National Goal Co-Leader: American Printing House for the Blind
P.O. Box 6085
Louisville, KY 40206-0085
(800) 223-1839, x264;
(502) 899-2264;
Fax: (502) 899-2363
E-mail: bboyer@aph.org
Contact: Burt Boyer

GOAL 2: Parent Participation

National Goal Leader: National Association for Parents of Children with Visual Impairments (NAPVI)
P.O. Box 317
Watertown, MA 02272-0317
(617) 972-7441; (800) 562-6265; Fax: (617) 972-7444
E-mail: Susan.LaVenture@perkins.org
Contact: Susan LaVenture

GOAL 3: Personnel Preparation

National Goal Leader: Division 17, Association for Education and Rehabilitation of the Blind and Visually Impaired (AER)
c/o Florida State University
205 Stone Building
Tallahassee, FL 32306-3024
(850) 644-8409; Fax: (850) 644-8715
E-mail: lewis@coe.fsu.edu
Contact: Dr. Sandra Lewis

GOAL 4: Provision of Educational Services

National Goal Co-Leader: Association of State Education Consultants for the Visually Impaired
c/o Minnesota Department of Education
Minnesota Resource Center: Blind/Visual Impairments
615 Olof Hanson Drive
Faribault, MN 55021-0308
(507) 332-5510; Fax: (507) 332-5494
E-mail: jean.martin@state.mn.us
Contact: Jean Martin

National Goal Co-Leader: Division 16, Association for Education and Rehabilitation of the Blind and Visually Impaired (AER)
c/o Bureau of Children, Family and Community Services
Grimes State Office Building
Des Moines, IA 50319
(515) 281-7972
E-mail: Karen.Blankenship@ed.state.ia.us
Contact: Dr. Karen Blankenship

GOAL 5: Array of Services

National Goal Leader: Council of Schools for the Blind
c/o South Dakota School for the Blind and Visually Impaired
423 17th Avenue, S.E.
Aberdeen, SD 57401-7699
(605) 626-2580; Fax: (605) 626-2607
E-mail: kaiserm@sdsbvi.northern.edu
Contact: Dr. Marjorie Kaiser

GOAL 6: Assessment

National Goal Co-Leader: The National Center for Vision and Child Development
Lighthouse International
111 East 59th Street
New York, NY 10022
(212) 821-9490; Fax: (212) 821-9707
E-mail: mlang@lighthouse.org
Contact: Dr. Mary Ann Lang

National Goal Co-Leader: American Printing House for the Blind
P.O. Box 6085
Louisville, KY 40206-0085
E-mail: dwillis@aph.org
Contact: Debbie Willis

GOAL 7: Access to Instructional Materials

National Goal Leader: Florida Instructional Materials Center for the Visually Impaired
4210 W. Bay Villa Avenue
Tampa, FL 33611
(813) 837-7826; (800) 282-9193; Fax: (813) 837-7979
E-mail: Suzanne.Dalton@sdhc.k12.fl.us
Contact: Suzanne Dalton

GOAL 8: Expanded Core Curriculum

National Goal Leader: Texas School for the Blind and Visually Impaired
1100 West 45th Street
Austin, TX 78756
(512) 454-8631; Fax: (512) 454-6305
E-mail: philhatlen@tsbvi.edu
Contact: Dr. Phil Hatlen

GOAL 9: Transition

National Goal Leader: National Transition Network
c/o Overbrook School for the Blind

6333 Malvern Ave.
Philadelphia, PA 19151-2597
(602) 331-1470; Fax: (602) 678-5819
E-mail: daelc@obs.org
Contact: Dael Cohen

GOAL 10: Professional Development

National Goal Co-Leader: Division on Visual Impairments, Council for Exceptional Children (DVI/CEC)
c/o Rum River Special Education Cooperative
315 7th Lane NE
Cambridge, MN 55008
(763) 689-3600; Fax: (763) 689-3601
E-mail: dmcnear@ecenet.com
Contact: Donna McNear

National Goal Co-Leader: State Vision Consultants
Association of State Consultants for the Blind or Visually Impaired

services icon Directory of Services

Join Our Mission

Help us expand our resources for people with vision loss.