Skip to Content

AFBAmerican Foundation®
for the Blind

Expanding possibilities for people with vision loss

AFB Center on Vision Loss Board Members

Our voluntary board supports the staff in their efforts to make the Center a place where thousands find hope each year. They meet four times per year formally, but the work of the board goes on every day through community involvement and committee work. The board is responsible for helping the Center to grow and thrive.

AFB Center on Vision Loss Board Members

Debbie Dennis
Chief Customer Officer
SVP Human Resources and Corporate Affairs

Ivan B. Bank, O.D.
Insight Complete Eye Care

Barbara Brice
Volunteer/Community Leader

Patricia Cowlishaw
Volunteer/Community Leader

Susy Kimbler
Volunteer/Community Leader

Clarke D. Newman, O.D.
Plaza Vision Center

Susan Odom
Volunteer/Community Leader

Alex Ramsey
LodeStar Universal

Bruce Taylor, MD
Clinical Professor Emeritus
UT Southwestern Medical Center
Department of Ophthalmology

Bobbie Sue Williams
Volunteer/Community Leader

Phillip Williams, Jr., M.D.

AFB Center on Vision Loss
Honorary Board Members

Ruth Altshuler
Community Leader

William L. Hutton, M. D.
Professor Emeritus, Department of Ophthalmology
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Larry Kimbler
Chair Emeritus, AFB Center on Vision Loss Board
Executive Vice President, Retired
The Staubach Company

Barbara Lipshy
Community Leader

James P. McCulley, M. D.
Chairman, Department of Ophthalmology
UT Southwestern Medical School

Esther R. B. Smith
Volunteer/Community Leader

Roger Staubach
Executive Chairman
Jones Lang LaSalle

Harry F. Tibbals III, Ph.D
Research Professor in Materials Science
University of Texas at Arlington

Jack D. Whitelaw
President, Retired
ExxonMobil Risk Management, Inc.

AFB Center on Vision Loss
Advisory Board Members

David J. Dzumba
Senior Manager, Global Accessibility

Louise Gartner
Volunteer/Community Leader

Lynn H. Smith
Volunteer/Community Leader

services icon Directory of Services

book icon Featured Book

Aging and Vision LossA Handbook for Families

Aging and Vision Loss:

Support the AFB Center on Vision Loss

Your gift will help us be a gateway to independence for people with vision loss.