Skip to Content

AFBAmerican Foundation®
for the Blind

Expanding possibilities for people with vision loss

Blind Cooking

Hi everyone
I'm a student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
My mayor is in Product Design; I'm specially passionate about human centered universal design, my focus is disability and relevant design.
The project I'm working on this semester is designing kitchen utensils.
I decided to focus on kitchen utensils for people who are visually impaired. I'm specifically addressing the design of the spatula and the slotted spoon. I wanted to see if I could get your thoughts on cooking with these utensils and what aspects could be improved upon. I was also wondering if you could help me out and answer some questions that I have.

-How do you organize your kitchen utensils? Is there a specific reasoning behind that organization?
-How many utensils do you normally use while cooking? What are they?
-How do you tell the difference between utensils, are there textured grips or raised pictures to differentiate?
-Do you modify kitchen utensils to fit your needs? If so, how do you modify them? Do you add braille, tags, texture, etc?
-Where do you place your utensils when you are not using them while cooking? (on the counter, on a napkin, on a plate...)
-Do you use kitchen utensils that are marketed specifically for people who are visually impaired? If so, which ones and why?
-What is your favorite kitchen utensil to use? Why? Is there a feature of this product that you particularly enjoy? What would you change and what would you leave from the existing design?
-What is your least favorite kitchen utensil to use? Why?
-How would your perfect kitchen utensil be like? What type of task would it do?
-What would make the cooking process easier for you?

I would really love to get some feedback, I want these utensils to actually help people and not just be more useless stuff out there,
Thanks so much for your help!

There are currently 4 replies