Skip to Content

AFBAmerican Foundation®
for the Blind

Expanding possibilities for people with vision loss

Graphic Design for the Blind

Hi, I'm a graduate student researching for my dissertation: Graphic design can communicate for the sighted and the blind. It's really hard to find someone who is a graphic designer, designing for the blind community, that can really support my thesis. I would like to speak and have some contact info with a graphic desiger who actually design magazine or art for the blind, using graphic design boundaries (or not). I keep going in loops with only Braille or books/touch arts which doesn't give me enough support to the graphic design field of rules. Please give me any suggest, support, recommendation, and advices. Thank you.

Evan

There are currently 11 replies

Sort Replies Newest to Oldest

Re:Graphic Design for the Blind

I am not sure if this will help but it may lead you somewhere that will or in contact with someone that will talk to you

http://www.commarts.com/CA/coldesign/rogW_116.html...
http://www.useit.com/alertbox/9610.html
http://www.mindmind.com/index.html
http://webdesign.about.com/od/accessibility/a/aa06...

Hiya, im doing the same subject for my dissertation. Ive only just recently started my research, and was wondering perhaps we could help each other out? Maybe share ideas we have already. I'm from the UK (not sure if you are american or not) but current UK legislation is effecting packaging design in pharmaceutical industry. Drug names and information must be in braille so its effected packaging design as well as perhaps break typographic rules.
There are actual guidelines for designing tactile graphics for the visually impaired as well, which seem to butcher any typographic rules I've learnt before hehe...
I'm not sure if you're delving into typography at all, I haven't really started to investigate imagery and colour. But here are some useful sites that have helped me out: