WASHINGTON, D.C. (December 2, 2021)—The American Foundation for the Blind (AFB) today announced an invitation for nominations for the 2022 Migel Medals, the highest honor in the blindness field. The Migel Medal was established in 1937 by the late M.C. Migel, the first chairperson of AFB, to honor professionals and volunteers whose dedication and achievements have significantly improved the lives of people who are blind or visually impaired.

Nominees should be those whose life work affects services to people with vision loss on a national level. Prospective candidates include, but are not limited to, professionals with specific training and expertise in education, rehabilitation, technology, vision rehabilitation, personnel preparation, health, administration or related fields. They may work in the public or private sector.

Nominators should send a one-page description of the nominee and his/her accomplishments, along with two letters of recommendation. Nominations are due by February 1, 2022, and can be e-mailed to afblc@afb.org with "Migel Medal Nomination" in the subject line. [Editor's note, 2/1/22: The deadline for nominations has been pushed to February 28, 2022.]

Past Migel Medal recipients include:

Rod Haneline
Dr. Michael Schermer

Glinda Hill
Dr. Elton Moore

Larry Campbell
Ted Henter

Carl R. Augusto
Rebecca Coakley

Visit this link for a complete list of Migel recipients.

# # #
About the American Foundation for the Blind
Founded in 1921, the American Foundation for the Blind (AFB) is a national nonprofit that creates a world of no limits for people who are blind or visually impaired. AFB mobilizes leaders, advances understanding, and champions impactful policies and practices using research and data. AFB is proud to steward the Helen Keller Archive, maintain and expand the digital collection, and honor the more than 40 years that Helen Keller worked tirelessly with AFB. Visit: www.afb.org